Loading
Prospective Juror Information

Jury Questionnaire

If you receive a jury questionnaire, please complete and deliver to the jury commissioner by mail, fax or hand delivery within 10 days of receipt to: Superior Court of California, County of Siskiyou Jury Commissioner 411 4th Street Yreka CA 96097 Fax: (530) 572-4014

Qualification

Under California law, NO eligible person shall be exempt from service as a trial juror by reason of occupation, economic status, or any characteristic listed or defined in Section 11135 of the Government Code, or for any other reason. Click here for Government Code Section 11135.

Eligibility

All persons are eligible and qualified to be prospective trial jurors, except those pursuant to CCP 203. Click here for CCP Section 203.

Jury Summons & Term of Service

Once a prospective juror has been summoned, the date, time, or place of appearance may be modified or further specified by the jury commissioner, by means of written, telegraphic, telephonic, or direct oral communication with the prospective juror. Click here for CCP Section 208. PLEASE REVIEW YOUR JURY SUMMONS FOR IMPORTANT CONTACT TELEPHONE NUMBERS, DATE AND TIME OF SERVICE. Prospective jurors should plan to be available for an all-day service. Court hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Jury service is complete once you are released after completion of jury selection or you are a sworn juror and the trial has completed. Jurors report in person for jury service and may be selected to serve as a trial juror on a case of any length. In most instances, jury selection for a case will take longer than one day. Prospective jurors will be instructed to return until jury selection is complete. Once you have completed jury service, you will not be asked to serve again for one year.

Excuse for a Physical or Mental Disability or Impairment

If you are over 70 years of age and your disability or impairment prevents you from serving, you are not required to provide a doctor's note. Complete the jury questionnaire or provide a letter, stating your request for excuse, date of birth and whether this impairment is temporary or permanent. If you are under the age of 70 and have a disability or impairment that would prevent you from serving, you must provide a doctor's note on official letterhead verifying the disability or impairment. The doctor’s note must indicate the permanent nature of your disability or impairment or, if temporary, the specific time period for which your disability or impairment is valid. Doctor’s notes should be delivered to the jury commissioner by mail, fax or hand delivery to the address listed above with the jury questionnaire.



Superior Court of California, County of Siskiyou