How to Apply for a Pardon
State of California

Office of the Governor

Statement of Philosophy

A California Governor's pardon is an honor traditionally granted only to individuals who have
demonstrated exemplary behavior following conviction for a felony. A pardon will not be
granted unless it has been earned. Obtaining a pardon is a distinct achievement based upon proof
of a useful, productive, and law-abiding life following conviction. The Governor has complete
discretion in deciding whether to grant a pardon. A pardon is a privilege—not a right—and not
granted to every person who applies.

Absent extraordinary and compelling circumstances, an application will not be considered unless
the applicant has been discharged from probation or parole for at least 10 years without further
criminal activity during that period. The 10-year rule may be waived in truly exceptional
circumstances (for example, factual innocence), if the applicant can demonstrate such
circumstances warranting a specific need for the pardon.

Pardons

Applications may be accepted from any person who has been convicted in California of a felony
or certain specified misdemeanor sex offenses. In most cases, the first step in applying is to
obtain a Certificate of Rehabilitation from the superior court in the county where the applicant
currently resides. All other cases are by way of a direct or "traditional pardon" application. The
procedure utilized will depend on the circumstances of each applicant, as explained below.

Once an application is filed under either procedure, the case is referred to the Board of Prison
Terms (Board) for investigation. The Board may contact the district attorney, investigating law
enforcement agency, and other persons with relevant information on the applicant.

No fee is charged for applying for a pardon.

Effect of a Pardon

A pardon does not seal the individual's criminal record, and the pardon is itself a public
record. When a pardon is granted, the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau
of Investigation are notified so that they may update their records on the applicant. The pardon
is filed with the Secretary of State, reported to the Legislature, and is a public record.



Restoration of Rights

The most frequent reasons for requesting a pardon are for personal satisfaction and for licensing,
bonding, or other employment purposes.

A pardon does not seal or expunge the record of the conviction. (Penal Code sec. 4852.17.) If the
person is subsequently convicted of a new offense, the prior conviction may be considered even
after a pardon has been granted. A person who has been pardoned cannot say that he or she has
no record of arrests or convictions. The person can, however, say that he or she has been
convicted and pardoned.

A pardon is not necessary to vote. An individual convicted of a felony becomes eligible to vote
in California after successful discharge from probation or parole. (California Constitution, art. II,
sec. 4.) A person who receives a pardon may serve on a jury. (Code of Civil Procedure sec.
203(a)(5) and Penal Code sec. 4852.17.)

A person convicted of a felony who receives a full and unconditional pardon may be employed
as a state parole officer or as a county probation officer but cannot otherwise be employed as a
peace officer. (Gov. Code sec. 1029.)

A person convicted of a felony cannot own or possess firearms. (Penal Code sec. 12021.) If the
individual receives a full and unconditional pardon, he or she may own or possess any type of
weapon that may lawfully be possessed by others in California, unless the person was convicted
of an offense that involved the use of a dangerous weapon. A California pardon does not
necessarily permit the possession of weapons under the laws of another state or the federal
government. The law governing the right to own or possess firearms can be found in Penal Code
section 4854.

The granting of a pardon does not prevent some licensing agencies from still considering the
conviction in determining whether a license should be granted to practice certain professions.
The law regarding licensing determinations can be found in Penal Code section 4853.

The Governor of California cannot grant a pardon for a conviction suffered in another
Jurisdiction, such as another state or a federal proceeding. A person convicted in another state
must apply for a pardon in that state. Federal pardon information can be obtained from the
Pardon Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice, 500 First Street Northwest, Washington, D.C.
20530.

Certificate of Rehabilitation

A Certificate of Rehabilitation is a court order declaring that a person convicted of a felony is
now rehabilitated. If a petition for a Certificate of Rehabilitation is granted, it is forwarded to the
Governor by the court and constitutes the application for a pardon. The laws pertaining to the
Certificate of Rehabilitation can be found in Penal Code sections 4852.01 to 4852.21. Receipt
by the Governor of a Certificate of Rehabilitation does not guarantee that a pardon will be
granted.



Generally, any person convicted of a felony who still resides in California may apply to the
superior court in his or her county of residence for a Certificate of Rehabilitation, provided that
he or she meets the requirements of demonstrated rehabilitation required by law. (Penal Code
sec. 4852.06.)

Special laws apply to those convicted of sex offenses. Persons convicted of misdemeanor sex
offenses specified in Penal Code section 290 may apply if the conviction has been dismissed
under Penal Code section 1203.4. Persons convicted of felony offenses under Penal Code
section 286(c), 288, 288a(c), 288.5, or 289(j) are not eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation.
A Certificate of Rehabilitation may relieve some offenders from having to register as a sex
offender under Penal Code section 290. For more information on 290 registration requirements,
contact the California Department of Justice, Sexual Registration Unit.

Who Mav Apply

You are eligible to apply for a Certificate of Rehabilitation if you:
1. were convicted of a felony and served your sentence in a California prison; and

* were discharged or released on parole prior to May 13, 1943; and
® have not been incarcerated in a state penal institution since release; and
* have resided for three years in California immediately prior to filing the petition.

OR

2. were convicted of a felony, or a misdemeanor sex offense specified in Penal Code section
290 that was dismissed under Penal Code section 1203.4; and

* have been discharged from custody, parole, or probation; and

* have not been incarcerated in any penal institution, jail, or agency since release;
and

¢ are not on probation for the commission of any other felony; and

* have resided for five years in California immediately prior to filing the petition.

OR
3. were convicted of a felony after May 13, 1943; and

e were sentenced to state prison; and _
* were discharged from custody or released on parole; and
* have resided for five years in California immediately prior to filing the petition.

Persons who are not eligible to apply for a Certificate of Rehabilitation include:

—

those who do not meet the above requirements; or

2. those who were convicted of misdemeanors, except those convicted of a misdemeanor
sex offense as discussed above; or

3. those who were convicted of sex offenses under Penal Code sections 286(c), 288,

288a(c), 288.5, or 289(j); or



4. those who are serving a mandatory life parole; or
5. those committed to prison under a death sentence; or
6. those persons in the military service.

When to Apply

Persons eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation may file a petition with the superior court in
their county of residence once they have completed the period of rehabilitation. The period of
rehabilitation begins to run upon discharge from incarceration or upon release on probation or
parole. The period of rehabilitation requires five years residence in California, PLUS:

1. four years for persons convicted of Penal Code sections 187, 209, 219, 4500, or 12310,
or Military and Veterans Code section 1672(a), or any other offense that carries a life
sentence; or

2. five years for any person convicted of any offense for which sex offender registration is
required under Penal Code section 290, except for convictions for violations of
subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of section 311.2 or of section 311.3, 311.10, or 314 (these
convictions require an additional two years); or

3. two years for any persons convicted of any offense not listed above and that does not
carry a life sentence; or

4. any additional years ordered by the court if the person served consecutive sentences.

Procedure for Applving

The petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation must be filed in the superior court of the applicant's
current county of residence. (Penal Code sec. 4852.06.) The Petition for Certificate of
Rehabilitation can usually be obtained from the court clerk, probation department, or public
defender's office. The petitioner is required to notify the district attorney in their county of
residence and the district attorney of each county in which the petitioner was convicted of a
felony. The notice must identify all crimes for which the person is requesting a Certificate of
Rehabilitation. The form for sending these notices can also be obtained from the court clerk,
probation department, or public defender.

Persons applying for the Certificate of Rehabilitation are entitled to assistance in processing their
petitions from the county probation office(s), state parole office(s), and for persons under the age
of 30, from the California Youth Authority. The person may also be represented by counsel of
his or her own selection. If the person does not have counsel, he or she may be represented by
the public defender, the probation department, or the court may assign counsel. (Penal Code
section 4852.08.)

Once a petition is filed, the court will schedule a hearing. Before the hearing, the court may
require an investigation by the district attorney. At the hearing, the court may require testimony
and records pertaining to the petitioner, including information about the conviction offense and
the person's conduct while incarcerated and since release.



If the court finds that the petitioner has demonstrated rehabilitation, the court may declare that
the petitioner is rehabilitated. A certified copy of the Certificate of Rehabilitation issued by the
court is transmitted to the Governor and becomes the application for a pardon.

Upon receipt of the application, the Governor may request that the Board of Prison Terms
conduct its own investigation and prepare a report. If the petitioner has been convicted of more
than one felony in separate proceedings, the California Supreme Court must approve granting a
pardon before the Governor may do so.

Traditional Pardon

The traditional pardon procedure is available to those who are not eligible for a Certificate of
Rehabilitation. This procedure is used primarily by those who were convicted of felonies in
California and now reside outside the state. The traditional pardon procedure is also available to
individuals who are not eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation because they have been
convicted of sex offenses under Penal Code sections 286(c), 288, 288a(c), 288.5, or 289(j), and
those convicted of misdemeanor offenses. The traditional pardon procedure is covered by Penal
Code sections 4800-4813.

Applicants for a traditional pardon can either obtain the current forms necessary to apply via the
Governor’s Office website, http://www.gov.ca.gov, or may write in to the following address:

Governor's Office

State Capitol

Attention: Legal Affairs Secretary
Sacramento, CA 95814

The applicant should complete the Application for Clemency and return it to the Governor's
Office. In addition, the applicant must send Notice of Intention to Apply for a Traditional
Pardon to the District Attorney of each county in which the applicant was convicted of a felony.

Applications may be forwarded by the Governor’s Office to the Board of Prison Terms for
investigation and recommendation.

If the applicant has been convicted of more than one felony in separate proceedings, the
California Supreme Court must approve granting a pardon before the Governor may do so.

As with those who apply via a Certificate of Rehabilitation, there is no requirement that the
Governor entertain granting a pardon, and the length of time needed to complete the pardon

process cannot be accurately predicted.

Revised February I, 2008



CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION and

PARDON
QUICK REFERENCE for RESTORATION OF RIGHTS

In California, the granting of a Certificate of Rehabilitation (CR) or a Governor’s pardon restores
to the applicant some rights of citizenship that were forfeited as a result of a felony conviction.

CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION GOVERNOR’S PARDON
DOES: DOES:

® Relieve some sex offenders, as specified, * Allow a felon to serve on a jury trial.
of further duty to register. (Code Civ. Proc. § 203 subd. (a)(5).)
(Pen. Code § 290.5.) *  Allow restoration of firearms rights, upon

¢ Enhance a felon’s potential for licensing federal approval, to specified offenders if
consideration by a State board. granted a full and unconditional pardon,
(Pen. Code § 4853.) unless the conviction was for a felony

® Serve as an official document to involving the use of a dangerous weapon.
demonstrate a felon’s rehabilitation, (Pen. Code § 4854.)
which could enhance employment * Allow a felon to be considered for
possibilities. appointment as a county probation officer

e Serve as an automatic app]icatjon fora or a state parole agent, but not to any other
gubernatorial pardon. peace officer positions.

(Gov. Code § 1029.)
* Allow specified sex offenders still required

DOES NOT: to register after obtaining a CR to be
* Erase the felony conviction or seal the relieved of duty to register if granted a full
criminal record. (Pen. Code § 4852.17.) pardon. (Pen. Code § 290.5.)

* Prevent the offense from being
considered as a prior conviction if the

person is later convicted of a new DOES NOT: o4
offense. ® Seal or erase the record of conviction.

e Allow a felon to answer on employment (Pen. Code § 4852.17.) '
applications that he/she has no record of F Prevclant the pardoped offer}se: fm_m being
CorvicHaH considered as a prior conviction if the

e Give a felon the right to vote — this right person is later convicted of a new offense.
is automatically restored after * Allow a pardoned person to answer on
termination from probation or discharge employment applications that he/she has
from parole. no record of conviction.

* Restore ability to own a firearm to felons
convicted of any offense involving the use
of a dangerous weapon.

(Pen. Code 4854.)

® Pardon convictions from another state, or
federal convictions.

® Necessarily prevent deportation.




IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

[Petitioner's County of Residence]

In the Matter of the Petition of:

Court use only

Date of Birth: / /

Cll Number:

Case Number:

[Assigned by the Court]

PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION AND PARDON L

[Pursuant to Penal Code §§ 4852.01 and 4852.06]

The Petitioner hereby respectfully represents and shows that:

FELONY AND MISDEMEANOR SEX OFFENSE HISTORY

[All felony, and misdemeanar sex offense convictions must be listed. If you have suffered more than three felony, or misdemeanor sex offense
convictions, attach additional sheets following the same format.]

Most Recent Felony, or Misdemeanor Sex Offense Conviction

On or about / / , | was convicted of a violation of
[list violation section]
of the California , in the County of ,
[list code, e.g. Penal or Health & Safety, efc.] [list county of conviction]
California, in docket number . My sentence for this offense was:

[Check appropriate box]
Commitment to state prison or other state institution:;

Probation with a State prison sentence imposed, but its execution suspended;
Probation with the imposition of judgment suspended;
Imposed without probation.

Thereafter, on or about / / ,  was:

[Check appropriate box]
Discharged from state prison or other state institution after completing my sentence.

Released on parole; parole was formerly discharged on / /
Released on probation after serving a jail sentence.
Released on probation; successfully completed probation on / / ;
relief granted pursuant to Penal Code §1203.4 on / / :
Sentenced without probation; relief granted pursuant to Penal Code §1203.4a on

/ /

This form was created in part from a form prepared by the Investigations Division of the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code §4852.18 (2/1/07)



Second Most Recent Felony, or Misdemeanor Sex Offense Conviction

On or about / i , | was convicted of a violation of
[list violation section]
of the California , in the County of
[list code, e.g. Penal or Health & Safety, etc.] [list county of conviction]
California, in docket number . My sentence for this offense was:

[Check appropriate box]
Commitment to state prison or other state institution;
Probation with a State prison sentence imposed, but its execution suspended,;
Probation with the imposition of judgment suspended;
Imposed without probation.

Thereafter, on or about / / , | was:

[Check appropriate box]
Discharged from state prison or other state institution after completing my sentence.

Released on parole; parole was formerly discharged on / /
Released on probation after serving a jail sentence. ;
Released on probation; successfully completed probation on / / :
relief granted pursuant to Penal Code §1203.4 on / /
Sentenced without probation; relief granted pursuant to Penal Code §1203. 4a on
/ /

Third Most Recent Felony, or Misdemeanor Sex Offense Conviction

On or about / / , | was convicted of a violation of
[list violation section]
of the California , in the County of
[list code, e.g. Penal or Health & Safety, etc.] [list county of conviction]
California, in docket number . My sentence for this offense was:
[Check appropriate box]

Commitment to state prison or other state institution;

Probation with a State prison sentence imposed, but its execution suspended,
Probation with the imposition of judgment suspended;

Imposed without probation.

Thereafter, on or about / / , | was:

[Check appropriate box]
Discharged from state prison or other state institution after completing my sentence.

Released on parole; parole was formerly discharged on / /
Released on probation after serving a jail sentence.
Released on probation; successfully completed probation on / } :
relief granted pursuant to Penal Code §1203.4 on / /
Sentenced without probation; relief granted pursuant to Penal Code §1203. 4a on
/ /

This form was created in part from a form prepared by the Investigations Division of the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code §4852.18 (2/1/07)



RESIDENCY HISTORY

| am now a resident of the State of California, and | have continuously resided in the State of

California from / / to the present date.

REQUEST FOR AN ATTORNEY

{Check the box below if you are requesting appointment of legal counsel]

| cannot presently afford to hire legal counsel to proceed on my petition. |

respectfully request the court to appoint legal counsel to represent my interests
pursuant to Penal Code §4852.08. | understand that at the end of the proceedings on my petition,
the court will evaluate my finances, and if the court finds that | can repay any portion of the legal
services that were provided to me, | will be ordered to reimburse the County for the amount the
Court determines | can afford. | also understand that if the Court orders me to reimburse the
County for legal services rendered, | have the right to a hearing on the Court’s determination of my
present ability to pay.

PETITIONER’S DECLARATION

| affirmatively state to the Court that during the period of my rehabilitation, | have lived an
honest and upright life, conducted myself with sobriety and industry, and exhibited good moral
character. | have conformed to and obeyed all the laws of the land.

WHEREFORE, | pray that this Court make an order and decree determining that | have
been rehabilitated, and that the Court issue a Certificate of Rehabilitation, and transmit a certified
copy thereof to each of those entities set forth in Penal Code §4852.14, said Certificate being a
recommendation that the Governor of the State of California grant me a full pardon, and that for
such purposes, a date and time be appointed for a hearing of my petition before this Court.

Executed this day of , 20

Month

Petitioner's Signature

Petitioner’s Address and Contact Phone Number:

Street Address (include any apartment number, if applicable)

City Zip Code

( ) 2

Area Code Contact Phone Number

This form was created in part from a form prepared by the Investigations Division of the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code §4852.18 (2/1/07)



IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

[Petitioner’s County of Residence]

In the Matter of the Petition of:

Court use only

Date of Birth: / /

Cll Number:

Case Number:

[Assigned by the Court]

| NOTICE OF FILING PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION AND PARDON =

[Pursuant to Penal Code § 4852.07)

To the Governor of the State of California, and the

District Attorney, County of

County of Petitioner’s Residence

District Attorney, County of

Most recent felony or misdemeanor sex offense conviction, if different from County of Residence

District Attorney, County of

27 Most recent felony or misdemeanor sex offense conviction, i different from County of Residence

District Attorney, County of

3° Most recent felony or misdemeanor sex offense conviction, if different from County of Residence

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that on / / ._, the undersigned has filed a

Date you filed your petition in the court

petition in the above-entitled court for a Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon pursuant to
Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 4852.01), of Title 6, of Part 3, of the Penal Code, and that

consideration of the petition has been set by the court for a hearing on / / at

a.m./p.m., or as soon thereafter as the matter can be heard, in Department

located at

Address of court City Zip Code

Dated: / /

Signature of Petitioner

Petitioner’s Address and Contact Phone Number:

( ) -

Street Address (include any apartment number, if applicable) Area Code Contact Phone Number

City Zip Code

This form was created in part from a form prepared by the Investigations Division of the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code §4852.18 (2/1/07)



| DECLARATION OF SERVICE BY MAIL |

[Pursuant to Penal Code § 4852.07]

In the Matter of the Petition of: Case Number:

* % %

L, ., am a citizen of the United States, 18 years of age or

older, and not a party to the proceeding. | am a resident of the County of ,

State of California.

My residence business address is :
Street address

City Zip Code

On / / , | served the PETITION AND NOTICE OF FILING FOR A
CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION AND PARDON on each entity listed below by placing a true

and correct copy of each document in a sealed envelope and mailing it, first-class, postage pre-

paid to:

The Office of the Governor California State Capitol
State of California Sacramento, California 95814

The Office the District Attorney

Street Address

County of , California
City Zip Code

The Office the District Attorney

Street Address

County of , California
City Zip Code

The Office the District Attorney

Street Address

County of , California
City Zip Code

The Office the District Attorney

Street Address

County of , California
City Zip Code

| declare that the foregoing facts are true and correct under penalty of perjury under the laws of the

State of California. Executed on / / ,in )
Name of City or Town

California.

This form was created in part from a form prepared by the Investigations Division of the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code §4852.18 (2/1/07)



| DECLARATION OF SERVICE BY PERSONAL DELIVERY |

[Pursuant to Penal Code § 4852.07]

In the Matter of the Petition of: Case Number:

* k k

l, , am a citizen of the United States, 18 years of age or

older, and not a party to the proceeding. | am a resident of the County of :

State of California.

My residence business address is ,
Street address

City Zip Code

On the date indicated, | served the PETITION AND NOTICE OF FILING FOR A CERTIFICATE
OF REHABILITATION AND PARDON on each entity listed below by providing a true and correct
copy of each document to:

On / / to the

The Office of the Governor California State Capitol

State of California Sacramento, California 95814
On / / to the

The Office the District Attorney

Street Address

County of , California
City Zip Code

On / / to the
The Office the District Attorney

Street Address

County of , California
City Zip Code

On / / to the
The Office the District Attorney

Street Address

County of , California
City Zip Code

On / / to the
The Office the District Attorney

Street Address

County of , California
City Zip Code

| declare that the foregoing facts are true and correct under penalty of perjury under the laws of the

State of California. Executed on / / ,in
Name of City or Town

California.

This form was created in part from a form prepared by the Investigations Division of the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code §4852.18 (2/1/07)



