This site provides basic juror information regarding jury service, online juror portal access, frequently asked questions, and other information. Thank you for your willingness to serve as a juror and to help the court fulfill this vital function of our democracy.
If you have been summoned for jury service, please bring your summons with you when appearing for service.
The right to trial by jury is a privilege that applies to both criminal and civil cases and is recognized as the foundation of the American court system, guaranteed by both the United States and California Constitutions. Pursuant to California Rules of Court, Rule 2.1008(a), jury service, unless excused by law, is a responsibility of citizenship. Court staff must employ all necessary and appropriate means to ensure that citizens fulfill this important civic responsibility. All U.S. Citizens who are over the age of 18, a resident of Siskiyou County, and are able to understand the English language are eligible to serve on a jury.
Jury Service and COVID-19
The Court has implemented significant changes to the jury process to ensure the safety of all potential jurors required to appear. All jurors will be asked to wear a mask while in the Jury Assembly Room and courtrooms for jury service. Hand sanitizer will be available in those rooms, and you may consider bringing a personal container of hand sanitizer as an additional precautionary measure.
All persons are eligible and qualified to be prospective jurors, except those defined under Code of Civil Procedure Section 203.
Under California law Code of Civil Procedure Section 204, no eligible person shall be exempt from service as a trial juror by reason of occupation, economic status, or any characteristic listed or defined in Government Code Section 11135, or for any other reason. No person shall be excused from service as a trial juror except as specified in subdivision (b).
Postponement or Deferral of Jury Service
The court realizes prospective jurors may have been summoned at an inconvenient time and in most instances are willing to defer or postpone service to a more convenient time. Jury service may be postponed or deferred one-time. To defer or postpone jury service, please go to the Juror Portal, you will need your juror ID number and your date of birth to access the portal.
Pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure 215, on and after July 1, 2000, the fee for jurors in the superior court, in civil and criminal cases is fifteen dollars ($15) a day for each day ‘s attendance of jury duty beginning on the second day of service and for each day of service thereafter. A juror who is employed by a federal, state, or local government entity, or by any other public entity as defined in CCP Section 481.200, and who receives regular compensation and benefits while performing jury service, may not be paid the fee described above. All jurors in the superior court, in civil and criminal cases, shall be reimbursed for mileage at the rate of thirty-four cents ($0.34) per mile for each mile actually traveled in attending court as a juror after the first day, in going only.
Length of Jury Service
The court uses the "One Day/One Trial" program as defined under California Rules of Court Rule 2.1002(c). This is intended to make jury service more convenient by shortening the time that a person is required to serve to one day or one trial.
Parking is available in the court parking lot across the street from the courthouse.
Proper attire is required in the jury assembly room and courtrooms. Jurors should not appear in shorts, tank tops, tube tops, t-shirts with inappropriate pictures or messages on the front or in bare feet.
Individuals entering any court building will be screened through security. Do not bring any knives scissors, handwork needles, metal fingernail files, screwdrivers, tools or any other sharp objects, or items that may possibly be used as a weapon. All weapons are prohibited in the courthouse and items considered weapons will be confiscated by security.
If you require any accommodation to fulfill your jury service or require additional assistance under the Americans with Disabilities Act, please notify the jury clerk upon your arrival or you may call (530) 842-0411, option #4.
Employer and Employee
Pursuant to California Labor Code Section 230(a), an employer may not discharge or in any manner discriminate against an employee for taking time off to serve as required by law on an inquest jury or jury trial, if the employee, prior to taking the time off, gives reasonable notice to the employer that he or she is required to serve.
If requested, the court can provide a verification or proof of attendance form at the end of your jury service stating all the days you were in present.